Argentina have announced their 23-man squad for the upcoming Copa America tournament scheduled to kick off in June.

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Manchester City’s Sergio Agüero headline the squad, who will aim to win the country’s first major tournament since 1993.

Also included are Juventus’ Paulo Dybala and Paris Saint-Germain’s Angel Di Maria, highlighting once again the attacking quality that the nation possesses.

There was no room however for Inter Milan’s Mauro Icardi.

The striker’s season has been highly controversial, after he was stripped of the club’s captaincy back in February, before refusing to play the following day against Rapid Wien in the Europa League.

However, Argentina boss Lionel Scaloni believes he has chosen all of the best available players.

“We believe that these are the best players we have at this moment,” he said.

“It is difficult to explain everything, but the final decision is always about what is best for the team.”

Argentina are in Group B alongside Colombia, Paraguay and tournament invitees Qatar.

La Albiceleste will be desperate for redemption having lost in the final in the previous two Copa America’s.



Goalkeepers: Agustin Marchesin (America Mexico/MEX), Franco Armani (River Plate), Esteban Andrada (Boca Juniors) 

Defenders: German Pezzela (Fiorentina/ITA), Juan Foyth (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City/ENG), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax/NED), Marcos Acuna (Sporting Lisbon/POR), Renzo Saravia (Racing Club), Ramiro Funes Mori (Villarreal/ESP), Milton Casco (River Plate) 

Midfielders: Leandro Paredes, Angel Di Maria (both Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Guido Rodriguez (America Mexico/MEX), Giovani Lo Celso (Real Betis/ESP), Roberto Pereyra (Watford/ENG), Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese/ITA), Exequiel Palacios (River Plate)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ESP), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City/ENG), Paulo Dybala (Juventus/ITA), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan/ITA), Matias Suarez (River Plate)

Damon Palmar