They are arguably the most successful club in A-League history.

Brisbane have housed a plethora of talent who have graced Australia’s premier football competition since the inception of the A-League in 2005.

From the days of Frank Farina, to Ange Postecoglou and Mike Mulvey title winning sides – the Roar have been a constant measuring stick.

To pick five players from the past 15 years is almost an impossible task but we gave it a crack.

GK – Michael Theo

Among the pantheon of Australian goalkeeping stalwarts, Michael Theo may be the most underrated.

Not only is Theo one of the best goal-keepers to don the Roar colours, he is one of the best to ever step foot in the A-League.

Michael Theo was one of the best goalkeepers in A-League history. Image: Getty

After returning to Australia from his short-stint overseas, Theo became an integral part of Brisbane’s three title winning sides.

A three-time goalkeeper of the year, Theo also held the record for going 876 minutes without conceding a goal in 2011 – keeping 12 clean sheets in his first season at the club.

His performance in the Grand Final that very season was legendary, saving two penalties in the ensuing shootout and helping the Roar to their first A-League championship.

DEF – Ivan Franjic

An integral member of the Roar’s dominance was Ivan Franjic.

Franjic, who played over 130 games in two stints at the Roar was originally signed as an injury replacement back in 2009 as a winger.

One of the most damaging full-backs in A-League history, Ivan Franjic. Image: FTBL

Under Postecoglou, Franjic was transformed into a full-back and twice he went on to make the PFA Team of the Season in 2011 and 2014 before being named at right back in the PFA Team of the Decade in 2015.

His ability to get up and down the flanks and provide an attacking outlet made him one of Brisbane’s most dangerous players.

Franjic’s rise to prominence was capped off by becoming the starting right-back under Ange at Australia’s 2014 FIFA World Cup – where he assisted Tim Cahill for the Socceroos opener against Chile.

A few months later, Franjic was a key member of their Asian Cup winning squad in 2015 – starting in all six games.

MID – Thomas Broich

Seriously, how good was Thomas Broich?

For seven seasons, the German winger made the A-League his personal playground as he quickly rose to becoming the best player in the competition.

After playing the majority of his career in the Bundesliga, Broich touched down in Brisbane and his impact was immediate.

His ability to not only create was the hallmark of his game tallying 52 assists in 199 games for the Roar in all competitions.

Thomas Broich, one of the best to grace the A-League. Image: Fox Sports

In each of Brisbane’s title winning seasons, the German played an integral role in leading the Roar to the promised land – creating a formidable partnership with the likes of Besart Berisha, Kosta Barbarouses and Henrique.

Throughout his time down-under, Broich cleaned up at awards ceremonies.

The German won two Johnny Warren Medals, was named in the A-League Team of the Season three times, the A-League Team of the Decade, the Joe Marston Medal in the 2014 Grand Final and won Brisbane’s player of the year three times.

MID – Matt McKay

The heart and soul of the Roar – Matt McKay.

Over two stints at the club, McKay has featured for the Roar over 170 times and spent up to 12 years representing Brisbane through thick and thin.

The Brisbane native was part of the Roar’s inaugural side in the league and was not only a key figure but was also captain of the side up until departing after their 2011 Grand Final win.

Matt McKay, the heart and soul of Brisbane. Image: A-League

McKay returned in 2013 and again helped them to a title in 2014 under Mike Mulvey where simultaneously he was a stalwart in Ange’s Socceroos setup.

It was in the Socceroos where his versatility shone through playing a variety of roles from the middle of the park to left-back where he played in every game in the 2011 Asian Cup and again featuring at the 2014 FIFA World Cup and 2015 Asian Cup.

After another six years at Suncorp Stadium, McKay retired in 2019 at the age of 36 – departing the club with the most appearances by any Roar player.

FWD – Besart Berisha

He is the most prolific striker to ever step foot in the A-League and it was at the Roar where Berisha became a household name.

In 2012, Besart Berisha joined Brisbane replacing the outgoing Jean Carlos Solorzano and within weeks he was scoring for fun and lead them to the Championship in 2012.

Besart Berisha made a name for himself at the Roar.

His fiery personality made him a polarizing figure in A-League circles but the Roar fans quickly came to love their new mohawk bearing forward.

After three seasons, Berisha scored 48 goals in 76 A-League games and won the Golden Boot once in his time at the Roar.

Nick D’Urbano