Two Australians are up for acclaim at The Best FIFA Football Awards at the end of the year, as the nominations for the four categories were announced by the world football body.

Matildas captain Sam Kerr will go up against Women’s World Cup winners Megan Rapinoe, Alex Morgan, Julie Ertz and Rose Lavelle for the award of The Best FIFA Women’s Player.

Lucy Bronze of England is also nominated after an impressive World Cup campaign, while France and Norway have two nominees each, including inaugural women’s Ballon d’Or winner Ada Hegerberg.

Arsenal women’s coach Joe Montemurro joins Kerr in the running for a major award after he was nominated for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach. Jill Ellis, Phil Neville and Milena Bertolini provide him competition after their World Cup campaigns with the USA, England and Italy respectively.

Champions League winner Jurgen Klopp will resume his rivalry with Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola in the running for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach. They are joined by Fernando Santos after he led Portugal to the first UEFA Nations League title, and impressive young Ajax manager Erik ten Hag.

The major prize will of course feature Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, but Virgil van Dijk and Liverpool teammates Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane will pose a threat after lifting the European Cup with the Reds.

Manchester City stars Raheem Sterling and Bernardo Silva were perhaps unlucky not to be on the list that otherwise features former Ajax duo Frenkie de Jong and Matthijs de Ligt as well as Eden Hazard.

Full list of nominees here:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal and Juventus

Frenkie de Jong – Netherlands and Ajax/Barcelona

Matthijs de Ligt – Netherlands and Ajax/Juventus

Eden Hazard – Belgium and Chelsea/Real Madrid

Harry Kane – England and Tottenham Hotspur

Sadio Mane – Senegal and Liverpool

Kylian Mbappe – France and Paris Saint-Germain

Lionel Messi – Argentina and Barcelona

Mohamed Salah – Egypt and Liverpool

Virgil van Dijk – Netherlands and Liverpool

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Lucy Bronze – England and Olympique Lyonnais

Julie Ertz – USA and Chicago Red Stars

Caroline Graham Hansen – Norway and Wolfsburg/FC Barcelona

Ada Hegerberg – Norway and Olympique Lyonnais

Amandine Henry – France and Olympique Lyonnais

Sam Kerr – Australia and Chicago Red Stars/Perth Glory

Rose Lavelle – USA and Washington Spirit

Vivianne Miedema – Netherlands and Arsenal

Alex Morgan – USA and Orlando Pride

Megan Rapinoe – USA and Reign FC

Wendie Renard – France and Olympique Lyonnais

Ellen White – England and Birmingham City/Manchester City

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Djamel Belmadi – Algeria national team

Didier Deschamps – France national team

Marcelo Gallardo – River Plate

Ricardo Gareca – Peru national team

Pep Guardiola – Manchester City

Jurgen Klopp – Liverpool

Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur

Fernando Santos – Portugal national team

Erik ten Hag – Ajax

Tite – Brazil national team

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Milena Bertolini – Italy national team

Jill Ellis – USA national team

Peter Gerhardsson – Sweden national team

Futoshi Ikeda – Japan U-20 national team

Antonia Is – Spain U-17 national team

Joe Montemurro – Arsenal

Phil Neville – England national team

Reynald Pedros – Olympique Lyonnais

Paul Riley – North Carolina Courage

Sarina Wiegman – Netherlands national team

Nick Hughes