The reigning champions, Western Sydney Wanderers, will defend their crown when they meet Brisbane Roar in the Youth League Grand Final.

The Wanderers’ spot was determined in the Sydney Derby which was 1-1 at half time. Coming back from the break and after a penalty box scramble, former U17 Joey and striker John Roberts headed the ball in from close range to put the red & black in front in the 82nd minute.

With the precarious weather, play was then suspended in the 87th minute due to lightning. An hour later, the match official called the game off, thus awarding the Wanderers the win. A shame for Sydney FC Youth who could have salvaged their title hopes in the remaining minutes that weren’t played.

As for Brisbane Roar, they secured their Grand Final ticket after defeating Melbourne Victory at Lakeside Stadium on Friday 2-0 thanks to Shannon Brady and a Daniel Leck penalty.

Despite Brisbane’s A-League season being a complete write-off and sitting second last, the youth boys have had better fortune (5 wins, 2 draws and only 1 loss) and are now in the box seat to make history by winning the Youth League title, something the club has never achieved.

*Grand Final date to be confirmed.

Round Ten Results

Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar (0-2) (Brady 45′, Leck 80′)
Adelaide United v Melbourne City (1-2) (Stamatelopoulos 3′) (Vidosic 17′, Pierias 85′)
Canberra United v Newcastle Jets (1-1) (Jauch 84′) (Simmons 11′)
Wanderers v Sydney FC (2-1) (Adam 45′, Roberts 82′) (Koop 19′)

Louise Taffa